These resources are available from any campus computer. For off campus access, a username and password is required. Ask a librarian for assistance.
Database Descriptions & Help Links
|
America's Historical Newspapers
- Hundreds of U.S. newspapers published between 1690 and 2000, from all 50 states. Full text articles arranged by topic including government, politics, social issues, culture, literature discoveries, inventions and more from hundreds of primary sources exactly as they appeared in print .
- Help Searching America’s Historical Newspapers
|
American National Biography
- Full text biographies of more than 17,400 American men and women from all eras and walks of life taken from print sources.
- How to Search ANB
|
ARTstor
|
Cambridge Collections
- Full text of 450+ volumes of Cambridge Companions providing accessible essays on major writers, artists, philosophers, philosophical movements, literary genres and periods.
- How to Search Cambridge Collection
|
Country Watch
- Demographic, cultural, economic, historical, and political information on 192 countries of the world. Also features maps, data comparison tables and weekly Global News Update.
- How to Search Country Watch
|
CQ Researcher, Global Researcher & Archive
- In-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues, 1923 to present. Reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy. Each 12,000-word report includes a background and chronology; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.
- How to Search CQ Researcher
How to Cite CQ Researcher
|
Dictionary of National Biography
- 50,000+ accurate, concise, articles on noteworthy people who were either born in the British Isles, lived in territories formerly connected to the British Isles at a time when they were in contact with British rule, or born elsewhere but who settled in the British Isles for significant periods. No living person is included.
- How to Search DNB
|
Encyclopedia Americana
|
Encyclopedia Britannica Academic Edition
- Full text of the printed Encyclopedia Britannica plus an additional 8,000 articles as well as links to over 200,000 related web sites selected for content by Britannica editors. Also includes Interactive Timelines, World Data Analyst and Country Compare features.
- How to Search Encyclopedia Britannica
|
Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia
- Full text of the printed Grolier Encycloepdia with hyperlinks to related web links and periodical articles with embedded photos, artwork, and maps, Includes multimedia resources, such as animations, panoramas, videos, and interactive cutaways.
- How to Search Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia
|
iCONN Digital Library
|
JSTOR
- Full text archive of scholarly journals in many disciplines Because of JSTOR's archival mission, it does not include the most recently published journal issues. Depending on the journal, this could be the most recent 1 to 5 years. FOR CURRENT JOURNALS, USE PROJECT MUSE.
- Basic and Advance JSTOR Search Tutorials
|
NoodleBib Citation Generator
- Software that helps you generate, edit, and publish a Works Cited list (Bibliography) using MLA, Chicago/Turabian or APA formats Takes care of punctuation, alphabetization and formatting, producing a polished source list for import into a Word document.
- How to Use Noodle Bib
|
Oxford English Dictionary
- The accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. An unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words from across the English-speaking world, both present and past. Traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources.
- Overview of OED Online Features
How to Search the OED Online
|
Oxford Language Dictionaries
- Essential language resources online: fully searchable, completely comprehensive bilingual dictionaries, and unique study materials and cultural resources that provide extra help with learning and using an expanding range of languages. Includes Chinese, French, Italian, and Spanish.
- How to Search Oxford Modern Language Dictionary
|
Pop Culture Universe
- An authoritative digital library of information on American and world popular culture, past and present. Includes full text of more than 250 books on various aspects of popular culture.
- How to Search Pop Culture Universe
|
Project Muse (Available 7/1/10)
-
Over 400 full text journals in the humanities and social sciences from nearly 100 not-for-profit publishers including many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies. MUSE journals cover many fields of study including literature, history, politics and policy studies, economics, education, film, religion and women's studies. MUSE provides access to the most recent issues of these journals. FOR OLDER ISSUES, USE JSTOR.
-
How to Search Project Muse
|
ProQuest American Periodicals
- Digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals that originated between 1741 and 1900 exactly as they were originally published. Titles range from America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository, to popular magazines like Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal.
- How to Search ProQuest American Periodicals
|
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
- Full text of every page of the New York Times (1851-2002), Hartford Courant (1764-1922), Washington Post (1877-1989), Wall Street Journal (1889-1988) and Los Angeles Times (1881-1985). Includes editorials, graphics and advertisements.
- How to Search ProQuest Historical Newspapers
|
Salem History Online
- Provides online access to the full text of the following printed reference books which are also available in the Hopkins Library Reference collection.
- 50s in America
- 60s in America
- 70s in America
- 80s in America
- 90s in America
- Encyclopedia of American Immigration
- Encyclopedia of Global Resources
- Encyclopedia of Global Warming
- Great Events from History—17th, 18th, 19th and 20th centuries
- Great Lives from History— Ancient World, Middle Ages, Renaissance, 17th, 18th, and 19th centuries
- Inventors and Inventions
- Notorious Lives
- Weapons and Warfare
- How to Search Salem History Online
|
Salem Science Online (Coming Soon)
- Provides online access to the full text of the following printed reference books which are also available in the Hopkins Library Reference Collection.
- Encyclopedia of Global Resources
- Encyclopedia of Global Warming
- How to Search Salem Science Online
|
Science Direct - Freedom Collection
|
|